Presiding Bishop Election

The Rt. Rev. Dabney T. Smith, Bishop of the Diocese of Southwest Florida, is one of four candidates to lead The Episcopal Church as its Presiding Bishop. The election will be held Saturday, June 27 at the church’s 78th General Convention in Salt Lake City.

In a letter to the Diocese, Bishop Smith said he was “deeply honored to be on this list of candidates.”

“We are a healthy diocese with great claims upon us for the bold, compelling witness of the Gospel. If I am elected Presiding Bishop, the exciting work here will continue,” said Smith. “ If  I remain the fifth bishop of this fine diocese, the exciting work here will continue.”

The 78th General Convention of The Episcopal Church is June 25 – July 3 in Salt Lake City. The Episcopal Church’s General Convention is held every three years, and is the bicameral governing body of the Church. It comprises the House of Bishops, with upwards of 200 active and retired bishops, and the House of Deputies, with more than 800 clergy and lay deputies elected from the 108 dioceses and three regional areas of the Church.

The nominees will be presented to the General Convention on Wednesday, June 24 from 1:30 to 4:30.

About the Bishop

The Rt. Rev. Dabney Tyler Smith was elected bishop coadjutor of the Diocese of Southwest Florida in 2006. He was rector of Trinity Church, New Orleans and has served at Holy Trinity in Melbourne, Fla; St. Michael and All Angels in South Bend, Ind.; and Grace Church in Port Orange, Fla.

The Diocese of Southwest Florida represents 77 Episcopal congregations and 14 parochial schools from Marco Island north to Brooksville. Part of The Episcopal Church and the worldwide Anglican Communion, the Diocese includes some of the earliest churches in Southwest Florida.

The next Presiding Bishop will be the 27th Presiding Bishop of The Episcopal Church, which was founded in 1789.

  • To find out about the nominees, click HERE.
  • To read Bishop Smith’s letter to the Diocese, click HERE.