Bishop Smith Elected to Executive Council of The Episcopal Church

Here, the House of Bishops in session at the 78th General Convention

SALT LAKE CITY – At its 78th General Convention, the House of Bishops elected the Rt. Rev. Dabney T. Smith to the Episcopal Church’s Executive Council.

The Executive Council is analogous to the vestry of a parish, in that it supervises the church’s work in between annual meetings. The Executive Council is comprised of twenty members elected by General Convention (four bishops, four priests or deacons and twelve laypersons) and eighteen members elected by provincial synods. Two bishops are elected each convention; also elected was the Rt. Rev. Dr. Edward J. Konieczny of Oklahoma.

The Executive Council of the Episcopal Church is an elected body representing the whole Church. In the course of the three years between convention, the Executive Council customarily meets once in each of the nine provinces of The Episcopal Church. It carries out the programs and policies adopted by General Convention, overseeing the mission and ministry of the church.

Director of Communications at Diocese of Southwest Florida
Garland Pollard is Director of Communications of the Diocese of Southwest Florida.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *